Regional Program of Improved Potable Water in the Rural Areas of Member States

ECOWAS  has introduced a Regional Program of  Improved Rural Water implemented by the Department Agriculture Environment and Water resource through the Regional Agency for the Agriculture and the Food and in conjunction with the Center of Coordination of Water resources and the regional Center of ECOWAS on renewable energies and  energy efficiency.

This program contributes in particular to the completion of the strategic parts of the Action plan of the Regional Policy of Water resources   by the promotion of investments in the water sector and its purification. It also integrates a section  on agricultural water and will be led in conjunction with the organizations of cross-border basins in West Africa.

The grant allocated by the ECOWAS to its member states has the goal of completing 5000 boreholes equipped with pumps functioning on  solar energy and being able to be of use to the agro-pastoral sector. These investments will be completed in two phases. The first phase of $50 million is for 2 225 boreholes  in 15 member countries of  ECOWAS and will take place from 2014 to 2015.

Priority will be accorded to post-conflict countries to allow them improve the living conditions of the most vulnerable. Through this ECOWAS wishes to the improvement of peace and security by supporting the vulnerable whose means of living were destroyed through the conflicts and whose access to water was destroyed.

The program has a dual objective of:

  • improving access to potable water, health and nutrition for those who are vulnerable. In some case the program will allow water for animals.

  • Improving agro-pastoral production and strengthening food security  by implementing a little demonstration in in agricultural production and drip irrigation. 

The programme will be implemented by the agency that executes public interest works indicated by the beneficiary country.



Leonidas Hitimana
Chief Technical Advisor, FAO
Leonidas Hitimana
Chief Technical Advisor, FAO

Technical Partners

Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation (AECID)
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
European Union
Economic Community Of West African States ( ECOWAS )

Financial Partners

Economic Community Of West African States ( ECOWAS )
German Cooperation
French Development Agency
United States Agency for International Development

Member Countries

  • Togo
  • Sierra Leone
  • Senegal
  • Nigeria
  • Ghana
  • Gambia
  • Cote d’ivoire
  • Cape verde
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Niger
  • Mali
  • Liberia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Sectors

  • Agriculture
  • Improved Rural Hydraulics
  • Tags

  • Agriculture